Tuesday, March 19, 2013

PDP’ll win Lagos, other S’West states – Oyedokun

A member of the  Peoples Democratic Party Board of Trustees, Alhaji Shuaib Oyedokun, on Monday  said the PDP would  win  governorship elections in Lagos  and other South-West states in the next elections. Oyedokun stated  in Osogbo, that  President Goodluck Jonathan and the national leadership of the PDP were  in support of the bid  to wrest power from  the Action Congress of Nigeria and Labour Party  in the zone.
The assertion by Oyedokun followed a promise  by the Osun State PDP Chairman, Alhaji Gani Olaoluwa,  that the PDP would  probe Governor Rauf Aregbesola’s tenure  – if the  PDP defeats  the ACN in the state.
Oyedokun explained that the PDP  would win the Osun and Ekiti governorship elections  in 2014  and then follow up  the feat    by beating  the LP in  Ondo State and ACN  in  Ogun, Oyo and Lagos states.
Olaoluwa spoke at the  PDP secretariat in Osogbo during a ceremony to commemorate the first anniversary of the executive of Osun PDP in office.
The Osun PDP party chairman said, “When we assume power next year by God’s grace, we are going to ask Governor  Aregbesola how Osun money was spent.
“We just hear about millions and billions of naira; we do not know where they are or how they are spent. PDP will call for accountability and probity when we assume power because the people of Osun need to know how their money is spent.”
Olaoluwa said any of the four governorship aspirants of the party would defeat Aregbesola in the governorship election because Osun people were   fed up with the ACN  in Osun State.
The four governorship aspirants of the party  are Chief Iyiola Omisore, Alhaji Fatai Akinbade, Chief Oluwole Oke and Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi.
Many leaders of the party took turns to castigate the Aregbesola administration, which they faulted for demolishing buildings in the state.
Olaoluwa announced an advisory committee, which comprises notable leaders of the party like former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola and  the Minister of State for Defence, Mrs Olusola Obada.
The party chairman announced a member, PDP Board of Trustees, Alhaji Shauib Oyedokun, as the chairman.
Chief Olu Alabi, Chief Ebenezer Babatope, former Speaker, Osun State House of Assembly, Chief Adejare Bello;  former Chairman, Osun PDP, Alhaji Ademola Rasak; Mrs Remi Wilson, Senator Yinka Omilani, Alhaji Tajudeen Oladipo, Prof Wale Oladipo, and Chief Lere Oyewunmi, are part members of the committee.

No comments: